Official State Dogs

Currently, 14 states have official dog breeds (which we think is much cooler than a state flower)!

The breeds are:

Alaska – Alaskan Malamute

Delaware – Golden Retriever


“Any adoptible dog.”

Louisiana – Catahoula Leopard Dog

This breed is actually in the AKC Foundation Stock Service and has a breed page on the AKC site with quite a bit of information: Catahoula Leopard Dog Breed Information

The Louisiana Catahoula Leopard Dog is also fully recognized by the UKC!
Breed Standards : Louisiana Catahoula Leopard Dog | United Kennel Club (UKC)

Maryland – Chesapeake Bay Retriever

Massachusetts – Boston Terrier

New Hampshire – Chinook

New York

Any “working” dog.

North Carolina – Plott Hound

Pennsylvania – Great Dane

South Carolina – Boykin Spaniel

Texas – Blue Lacy

This dog is not recognized by the AKC or the UKC.

Virginia – American Foxhound

Wisconsin – American Water Spaniel